Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: New Member with question about using on-board flash

New Member with question about using on-board flash

Hiya, I am new to dSLR photography and would really appraciate some advice for making the most of my on board flash whilst I am saving for a speedlight. I would really appreciate tips on using it as a fill in flash in harsh light to reduce the shadows in portraits.
    Last edited by Donald; 15th September 2011 at 08:17 AM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: New Member with question about using on-board flash

Vicky

As you can see, I've now copied your introductory post into this section.

Real Name
    Stig

Hello Vicky

To get the onboard flash to work as a fill flash you have to get out of auto and program mode - at least that's the way it works on my Nikon D90. In aperture mode on the D90 the flash is automatically set to work as a fill flash. In manual mode you'd have full control. In this mode I usually dial down the flash intensity to between -1 and -2 (1/2 to 1/4 power) and fire away. it is in my opinion important to have a good eposure setting to begin with, so I start by setting a proper "unaided" exposure, and then dial in the fill flash to taste within the limits I mentioned above.

Others more knowledgeable members will probably chime in in time.

Good luck

Stig

Real Name
    Richard

One possible concern to be considered when using the onboard flash as fill light outdoors is that some lens hoods will block some of the light from the flash causing a dark oval at the bottom of your frame when shooting in the landscape mode and at one of the sides when shooting in the portrait position. This is just something you need to test by shooting at a blank wall. I don't know all of the lens hoods that are big enough to cause this shadow but the hood for the Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS lens is one of these...

Real Name
    Tom