Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: How to create semi-transparent looking objects in Photoshop

How to create semi-transparent looking objects in Photoshop

Hey everyone
    I am a newbie to photoshop and I have always been curious as to how to get this effect in the image below with the see-through hood. I am unsure what effect its called, so if anyone can point me into the right direction, that would be fantastic
    Thankyou all in advance

How to create semi-transparent looking objects in Photoshop

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Newbie to photoshop

Quote Originally Posted by Breno View Post
    Hey everyone
    I am a newbie to photoshop and I have always been curious as to how to get this effect in the image below with the see-through hood. I am unsure what effect its called, so if anyone can point me into the right direction, that would be fantastic
    Thankyou all in advance
    Hi Breno,

Welcome to the forums - great to have you with us

I'm not a whiz at special effects, but shots like this wouldn't be too hard to do. It's really just a few Photoshop tools and techniques coming together, essentially, ...

1. You'll need two images that cover the elements of what you want the composite to look like - in this case the normal looking car and either another shot of the same car without the bonnet or a photo of another engine bay taken from the same angle, with the same lighting (to keep things simple).

2. The two images will need to be stacked one on top of the other as layers

3. A layer mask will need to be created to determine which part of the image to display, and which to hide, and

4. Finally, the opacity of the layer with the normal bonnet needs to be reduced so that the engine bay appears through the normal image.

Does this help at all?

Hey Colin, Thanks for the reply.
    I am just having trouble with Step 3 that you wrote.