Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: How to see in B&W

Real Name
    Seri

How to see in B&W

I'm very new to landscape photography, and like B&W very much. I've been using Silver Efex Pro 2 to run old compact photos through the presets to teach myself what kinds of landscapes would work best in monochrome, but it's still very difficult to see in B&W when I'm out there in front of sea and shore, for instance, so I've been trying to think of ways to see a scene in tones only.

Although it's not much used these days, artists used to look at a scene through a Claude Glass (black mirror) which helped them to see the relative tonal values. I know a great deal more about the history of art than of photography, so I was wondering if photographers have something like this that they use to assess a scene for B&W?

Otherwise, I'm on the hunt for a Claude Glass

Any other kinds of advice on how to see in B&W would also be gratefully received, or is it just a matter of practice until you get your eye trained to see that way?

Cheers,

Seri

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: How to see in B&W

For me, Color or Black and White photography is a matter of preference, Seri. I always think that the same principle holds true to both. My guide in taking a shot is - "A very well composed shot, with a very interesting subject, will always be perfect whether you process it in color or black and white." I, for one has a personal taste to always show human emotions in black and white. For me, taking away the color makes the image bare and strong concentrating only on the message.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Practice, practice, practice.

Look at the scene and tell yourself what it's going to look like in B & W. Either set the camera to Mono so that you see a B & W jpeg on the back screen or take it home and put it onto the computer screen and desaturate it. How close is that to what you said it would look like.

Repeat.

Repeat

Repeat.

And then do it again!