Thread: Unwanted dust speck in/on viewfinder - can I safely clean it?

Real Name
    Mike

Unwanted dust speck in/on viewfinder - can I safely clean it?

This may be one of those questions that all novices have at some point, and although the answer should be in my manual, if it is is I am unable to find it. Truth is, I would rather ask the question than take a chance on damaging a critical component of my new camera.

When I look through the viewfinder I can see a small speck of dust to the lower right of center. Did my best to show it's location in this drawing (I'm no artist..lol):

I first checked the UV filter, not there, so next was the lens, and it wasn't there either. Both are super clean and free of any dust. Next was looking inside to see if it was present, and I can see the speck (with a magnifying glass) on the component shown in this image taken with my Fuji P&S (sorry for the flash glare). The pattern for the focus points is also visible on this small panel, as is the bleeping speck:

The image was taken with the lens removed, and no other changes. I've read in the manual about the image sensor and the low-pass filter, and I have activated the cameras "Clean Image Sensor" several times with no benefit seen. No attempts have been made at attempting "mirror lock up", as the manual warns about the potential damage that can be done by those unskilled at cleaning sensors (moi!), and although it will drive me nuts seeing it every time I look through the viewfinder, I would rather tolerate it than chance damaging the camera.

The panel is not a mirror (as best I can tell), and sense I didn't use the "mirror lock up" feature then may I also presume it is not the highly sensitive sensor?

I don't have a "formal" cleaning kit yet with blower, etc. (yes, it is now on order...Unwanted dust speck in/on viewfinder - can I safely clean it?), but do have a Lenspen cleaning brush and "alcohol free" lens cleaning solution.