Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First Pics

Real Name
    Matt

First Pics

Hi Everyone,
    I'm fairly new to photography, but have been following the forum for quite some time. I have learned quite a bit from everyone, but putting those learnings into action seems to be the difficult part

So this is my first post with pictures and I was hoping for a few comments on composition, exposure, post-processing, etc. Please don't hold back, I can take it

First Pics

First Pics

First Pics

First Pics

Thanks in advance!
    Matt

Real Name
    Mike

Re: First Pics

Hi Matt,

First, welcome to the site, and thanks for sharing your first images...First Pics

I am very non-technical, so please don't take my comments as being technically analytical. For me, the first two images are nice, but I just love the expression on his face in the third one, plus he has a handful of sand/dirt, meaning he's having a grand time playing...

Mike

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Matt

What is your own view of the images in respect of composition, exposure, post-processing?

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Hello, Matt. On pictures #1, 2 and 3 always aim your camera focus on the eyes. When the eyes are in focus you have already won half of it. When your background is a bit busy (like in #1 and 2) this is were a shallow depth of field or the use of a wide aperture will help you blur them out to make your subject stand out. On #1 the blown window highlights doesn't help much on the composition so I suggest you go crop them to a square format. On #2, the framing is a little bit tight so next time I suggest you have some extra headroom and foot room for a more balanced composition. #3 is great, just a little bit soft on the focus and the hand of the child was cut off. #4 is funny and nice. In here, I think some reflection from that glass would make the shot more realistic. You're off to a good start. Hope to see some more from you. Good job.

Real Name
    Matt