Thread: How did you Learn ?

Real Name
    Steve

How did you Learn ?

Hey,

I'm new to Photography & I'm finding out that there is quite a steep learning curve.
    I've bought some used kit Nikon D70 + 18-105mm VR) with a view to learn and to see if I "have the eye" for photography.

At the moment I'm reading a lot & taking lots of photo's but not many "Images"

Without trying to re-invent the wheel, I was wondering how you learnt when you were starting out.

Any advice & pointers would be appreciated.

WTP

p.s. I'm enjoying the journey thus far

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: How did you Learn ?

Hey - I am far from expert, so only take this as a suggestion!! I've treated photography almost like a 'sport'. I've done the same as you have, read a lot, and practiced a lot to get the technical aspect of it down. But in the end, what I've found most beneficial is to surround myself around people who have the knowledge of the craft, and the skill, and the experience. Just like a sport - if you always just read books, you won't get any better - if you always play with people that are at your experience level, you won't get better. Throw yourself in there, and learn.

There's my 2 cents!

Real Name
    Richard

IMO, there are basically three types of beginning photographers...

The "NATURAL" who is a person that has, over his or her lifetime (however long or short that may have been) has gained a photographic education sub-conscientiously via the millions upon millions of images viewed throughout his or her life...

The "LOOKER" who has looked at millions of images but has never "seen" them. No matter what training this person receives, he or she will never shoot a good image, except by total accident...