Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First attempt at B&W

Real Name
    Frank Miller

First attempt at B&W

I rarely do B&W so I have little skill in this arena but this shot cried out to me and begged to be done in B&W so I'm giving it a try. The original was taken through the window of the plane from somewhere around 30,000 feet. There is a reflection flair that I'll need to deal with before I'm done but for the moment, my interest centers on setting the brightness and contrast of the image correctly. This was done with the Sony P&S so I don't have the benefit of RAW processing available. Here is the original JPG shot at ISO 64, 1/640 sec at f4, 2048x1536 pixels. Posted full size.

First attempt at B&W

Here it is converted to B&W with some post processing applied.

First attempt at B&W

As I am just starting out with B&W, I've not yet developed a sense of what is enough and what is too much. Any recommendations and/or C&C are most welcomed.
    Last edited by FrankMi; 6th August 2011 at 04:13 PM.

Real Name
    Nigel Holmes

Re: First attempt at B&W

Hi Frank, I've never tried B&W conversion before so I cant comment on that aspect but I think you have done a tremendous bit of PP. How you have gone from a milky looking colour shot to a clean, crisp, B&W is beyond me. I like it... excellent!

Cheers
    Nigel.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Quote Originally Posted by Squidgy View Post
    Hi Frank, I've never tried B&W conversion before so I cant comment on that aspect but I think you have done a tremendous bit of PP. How you have gone from a milky looking colour shot to a clean, crisp, B&W is beyond me. I like it... excellent!

Cheers
    Nigel.