Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Woodsyface

Real Name
    Wayne

Woodsyface

Hi,

I'm just beginning to play with high dynamic photography. "Woodsyface" is one of my very first efforts utilizing this technique. He is a chainsaw-carved wood spirit who lives in a cedar tree behind my house.

No, I didn't wield the chainsaw myself so in that sense the picture is not an original. But for now I'm tickled pink with the results of my tonemapping and editing.

I'm sure there's lots of room for improvement. Any suggestions?

Wayne

Woodsyface

And here is the original HDR photo.

Woodsyface
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 24th July 2011 at 03:37 PM. Reason: Fixed the image tags (and removed subsequent posts as unnecessary)

Real Name
    Scott Benz

Re: Woodsyface

I love them both. The first is great tip to toe. I would like to see the same red and yellow colors from the first image in the second.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Scott, er, Wayne!, from the standpoint of the basics, it's all there but as the is a piece of artwork, the final result is pretty much up to what the artist is trying to convey. I think suggestions for color, contrast and exposure changes would be personal preferences.

The first question is 'Do you like it?'. If you don't, what would you like to see different? For me, they look fine just the way they are.

In a conventional landscape, for example, tonemapping can produce some undesirable side effects if you are trying to capture the detail in the highlights and shadows that can't be obtained by a single exposure. Here, we do not have an accepted standard of what the sky or grass should look like so it the presence or absence of those side effects may not apply.