Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Hdr

Real Name
    Chris

Hdr

My first attempt using a bracket of three exposures, +1.7, on, -1.7 EV. I used Surrealism with a variety of layer masks to oush and pull the colors and textures. Since I have nothing in my background to compare it to, I'm going to need some feedback from you folks that do a lot of HDR.

As you can tell by the output, I am not much into real super exaggeration, but do like the ability to layer up a higher degree of contrast.

Hdr

Real Name
    Chris

Re: Hdr

Hi Chris

I'm no expert on HDR but I have played about with it and realised the finished result depends quite a lot on how you blend the exposures together, I haven't done it manually but have used the HDR Pro in Photoshop and I have also used Photomatix. In my opinion Photomatix gives you more flexibility but once your images have been blended they do need a lot of processing to get the best from them.
    I think the true power of HDR lies in being able to bring out the detail in the shadows while retaining detail in the highlights, you can do that to a greater or lesser extent dependent upon your individual tastes. I think your image could do with more detail being brought out in the shadow areas, as it stands it looks like a very sharp, traditional single exposure.
    It also looks to have a yellow cast in a couple of areas, I have got that in a few HDR images I have created but can usually get rid of it when editing the image after the exposure have been blended. That is one of the keys to HDR in my opinion - edit them after blending to achieve the desired effect.

Regards

Chris

Real Name
    Chris

It probably does have a slight yellow cast, but it was shot just as the sun broke the horizon and it was a really yellow sun. I kind of like the warmth but will look again to see if there is another cast in there not intended. Thanks for your input.

Real Name
    Alan Pezzulich

Hi Chris,