Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Tips on using an ultra wide angle lens

Real Name
    Ali

Tips on using an ultra wide angle lens

Hi everyone;

My Canon 16-35mm ultrawide lens is coming tomorrow. I am going out to shoot a few pictures with it on Saturday. I have never used a lens like this before and would like to know if you guys have any general advice on how to use this kind of lens, things that first time users need to know.

I will be mostly taking pictures of friends. There may not be that many general tips but if there is it would be great if you guys can share it with me and others!

Thanks,

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Tips on using an UWA Lens

Quote Originally Posted by sedali View Post
    I have never used a lens like this before and would like to know if you guys have any general advice on how to use this kind of lens, things that first time users need to know.
    Some people like to use UWA lenses for portraiture, but I'm not a big fan of them for that purpose; if the person is placed towards the outside of the shot you'll get distortion, and even if they're in the middle you'll need to get so close to make them appear significant that you'll end up with issues like noses looking bigger etc

For landscape shots the key words are "get agressive" - put the horizon 1/3 down from the top then lower the camera until foreground objects start taking up 15% or more of the horizontal space (you'll probably be quite surprised at how low you and up and surprised also at the angle the camera ends up at; they're not a lens for simply standing on a hill - putting the horizon in the middle - and clicking away with nothing in the immediate foreground.

Hope this helps

Real Name

PS: Have you got the filter yet?

Real Name
    Ali

Thanks for the tips, Colin. I will try to remember those and also I will try to read a little bit until Saturday, so that I do not embarass my self with my new toy.