Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flat person

Real Name
    Shannon

Flat person

I am new to photography and don't quite know how to achieve those stunning photos where people look 3D ... This photo I took at a political event looks flat to me.. Any comments or suggestions would be VERY HELPFUL! Thanks!!
    Last edited by Shambhala; 19th May 2011 at 02:41 AM. Reason: picture didn't attach

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: Flat person

I can't seem to see any image here, Shannon. Try reading this link and see if it can help you post an image at CiC: HELP THREAD: How can I post images here?

Real Name
    Shannon

Hopefully the picture will post this time.

Real Name
    Shannon

Thanks Jiro.. just clicked on the link and hopefully it will work when I try it for the third time.. Sorry I am new, I just joined yesterday.
    Flat person

Real Name
    Shannon

This is what I think is wrong so hopefully someone can help me out and let me know if I am thinking in the right direction.. I didn't understand Depth of Field when I took this picture. I think I need to work on that now that I know what it is. I also think I cropped it too much and didn't leave enough room for the subject to be looking at something.. If you can think of anything else please let me know. Thanks. !!

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Quote Originally Posted by Shambhala View Post
    Thanks Jiro.. just clicked on the link and hopefully it will work when I try it for the third time.. Sorry I am new, I just joined yesterday.
    Flat person
    Well, you learned how to post an image quickly than I did the first time. So, back to your image. It doesn't look that "too flat" to me. My guess as to what probably made you think or look at it as a flat image are:

1. The color tones of the man and the background seems to be too close without strong contrast.