Thread: My Daughter

My Daughter

I borrowed a computer tonight and gave myself a lesson in Photoshop (okay, I had a little help but sent Mr. Stodgy to play with the dog when he began to hover). I have RAW capability but no program to edit it in, so this shot was from a jpeg image.

The biggest problem I had and it is still obvious in the final output, is too much red. I tried some layer adjustments, desaturation and color adjustment but couldn't make it go away. How else can I do this and not get too technical with stuff I am just beginning to learn?

My Daughter

Real Name
    Peter

Re: My Daughter

Hi Mandy and welcome to CiC.

Nice shot but I hope you saved an original copy. Have another go and start with adding a little contrast (not a lot) and some sharpening (not a lot) and see how you go. This has just got too much of everything. It is very hard to tell you what to undo as I am not sure what you have done.

If we start with some simple basic adjustments then we ahve a chance to help you add to them.

It is a learning experience and it is the only way to try.
    Last edited by Peter Ryan; 3rd February 2011 at 03:58 AM.

Real Name
    Mario

you may want to try the curves tool, Mandy. It is very powerful. Choose the Red line curve from the drop down and decrease it to get what you want. A small reduction has a large impact. Possibly play around with a much smaller reduction in the blue channel too just to see what happens. (Preferably prior to anything else)

Adjusting with Curves is normally my first starting point (apart from Raw conversion) but although Curves usually does a good job it does take a little bit of initial understanding. Not difficult, just confusing at first.

Your photo example simply has too much of everything, as Peter said, and is looking very over saturated. Average photos taken under average conditions with modern cameras (assuming correct settings were used) usually only require a basic tweak during editing.