Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Wine: High-End Shiraz

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Wine: High-End Shiraz

Three months ago I posted this image of the wine shown below. I was anticipating enjoying the wine in December with friends but they had to postpone until last weekend.

This is my first time drinking a wine from Elderton's Command brand. I've never had a better Shiraz. One of my friend's eyes literally got big as she took her first sip of the wine. Better yet, I still have the unopened bottle shown below.

Setup
    The background is copper-colored paper with a semi-metalic fiinish. The tabletop is glass. A medium continuous-light lamp on the right was positioned in the same direction as the bottle with very little light directly spilling onto the scene. A white reflector on the left side adds a reflection to that side of the bottle. A reflector coincidentally the color of red wine on the right front side was used mostly to throw more light onto the background.

Wine: High-End Shiraz
    Last edited by Mike Buckley; 11th February 2016 at 11:35 PM.

Real Name
    Sam

Re: Wine: High-End Shiraz

This is beautiful photo Mike, I think the burgundy color of the background works great in the composition. The only minor thing that catches my eye is that the bottle appears to be leaning slightly to the right while the wine glass appears more vertical. It may be an optical illusion.

Real Name
    John

Nicely captured.

Thanks, guys!

Sam: You were right about the slight tilt to the right. I had thought it was tilted all along but when I checked the alignment of the source and reflection apparently the display size I used was too small to be accurate. Once I saw your comment, I checked that alignment again, this time at a larger display size, and confirmed that the alignment had been off. I replaced the image with the corrected version. Thanks for bringing that to my attention!
    Last edited by Mike Buckley; 11th February 2016 at 11:13 PM.