Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: hi - 30 second photo - comments?

Real Name
    Mark

hi - 30 second photo - comments?

hi.

I just got my 30s exposure picture taken from my balcony. Can you comment? Is there anything I could have done to make this photo more interesting?

hi - 30 second photo - comments?

How do you select your subjects?

Mark

Real Name
    Sahil Jain

Re: hi

Hi, Mark. Welcome to the Forum.

Looks good, but I guess 30 secs were too much for it. Its giving more of day-like look. Is that what you had intended to do? It would have been fine it there were no lights. It would have been better if you could have included more of the buildings by lowering the level of the camera a bit, or making it face downwards.
    My 2 cents. I am no expert. Lets see what experts have to say!

Real Name
    John

Hi Mark,

Welcome to the group. Any object can be a subject, you could choose to photograph still life images, people and candids or portraits, shapes or patterns, or architecture. You have to decide what interests you most. What lenses do you have? If you do not have a zoom lens then I would suggest moving closer to your subject. It looks like you were practicing photographing light trails in the above shot. Did you choose the camera settings or was it on auto?

Real Name
    Mark

thanks sahil and SM.

Thanks for the tips on choosing subjects.

I do have 18-55 and 55-200mm zoom lenses. It was already in the package when I bought the body.

I am interested on Night photography so I am practicing it. I used manual on this one. I did autofocus first then shifts to manual focus.

My setting were F/10, 30s, ISO 200 and 29mm. I used the 18-55mm this time.

The light trails where not suppose to be there. A cab accidentally passed on that side. So trail of light appeared.

Mark