Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What To Do?

Real Name
    Barry Black

What To Do?

Hello...

I'm a newbie here and probably a second rate amateur photographer. My first camera was the famous Kodak Brownie and then migrated through a series of conventional Kodak cameras with my last film camera being the Minolta X-700 with a 28-80mm zoom. Not being a wealthy person and with film and processing getting costly, the digital era was a blessing! My first digital was the Olympus 340R and then a Sony DSC-S600. I like the ease and portability of a point and shoot, but I also like pictures that are vibrant and sharp. After spending several weeks reading on-line reviews I decided on the Nikon P-500. I've had the camera for over a year now. I like the portability, but the pictures, while OK, are not particularly vibrant and sharp and I've tried different settings----auto and manual. Now I know that a lens with an extended zoom capability gives up something and I wonder whether the P-500 was not the best choice. Any suggestions or advice will be appreciated.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: What To Do?

Quote Originally Posted by Blackspeare View Post
    ... but the pictures, while OK, are not particularly vibrant and sharp and I've tried different settings-
    Hello and welcome to CiC. I hope this will be the first post in a long-term involvement with the forum.

So that you don't continue to get people asking you what your proper name is, because most us use that on here, you can go to Edit Profile and enter your proper name under 'Real Name'. Then it will appear underneath your Username in all your posts. You can also enter your location so that it does the same, just as in my details alongside this message. Then we all know where everyone is in the world.

As to the point you make re vibrancy and sharpness. First question - Are you shooting in RAW or JPEG format and at what level do you rate your post-processing experience?