Thread: My first photo for you from total beginner - any advice

Real Name
    Tracey Millar

My first photo for you from total beginner - any advice

Hi all , this is my first photo to show you. i am an absolute beginner and using my first dsl camera which is a canon d1100 with the standard kit lense.
    I want to take pictures of nature and landscapes in particular.
    I took loads of photos this morning of my horses but they were very disappointing when I put them on the computer. They are dark and drab and even though it was a dull morning it wasnt this dark.
    I just used the sports dial on the top of the camera.
    I am still reading and learning about shutter speed and ISO.
    So any tips or advice would be appreciated.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: My first photo for you from total beginner - any advice

Tracey

I know it seems a difficult step to take when you've just got your first DSLR, but the earlier you can do it the better - On that top dial on the camera get yourself to use it in P, Tv, Av, M area and forget about all those others settings like 'Sports'. The 4 modes I've listed there are the ones that put you in the driving seat and controlling what you end up with. With all those other settings you're leaving all the decisions to the camera.

The sooner you start using those modes, the quicker you'll learn and start mastering your picture-taking. Yes, it's harder to start with. But once you get it, you'll never look back.

Keep taking loads and loads of pictures. Note what happens when you try different settings. That's the best way of you finding out what happens when you do different things.

Additional to what Donald has said.

Your basic camera settings aren't actually a long way out here. Probably similar to what I would have used.