Thread: Another Canon lens dilemma

Real Name
    Dora B

Another Canon lens dilemma

Hi,
    I just bought my new 70-200 f4 and this is my very first try. In my backyard I don't have to much light, so I would like to ask you what should I do to improve .
    The pic is hand held, AV mode, ISO auto and I kept the UV filter on my lens.
    Thank you

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Another Canon lens dilemma

You did quite a decent job hand holding... What was your focal length, shutter speed and f/stop. Additionally, at what ISO were you shooting? Finally, what post processing, if any, did you do with this image?

When I shot with my previous non-IS 70-200mm lens, the 1/focal length formula for shutter speed did not work very well for me. I needed at least a shutter speed of 1/focal length x crop factor and sometimes faster in order to be sure of a sharp image. Of course, as I grow older, my ability to hand-hold at lower shutter speeds has diminished.

You have a difficult mix of lighting requirements there, Dora.

I would be tempted to try a little negative exposure compensation then increase it selectivly by editing with a partial mask on an adjustment layer. But that wouldn't make a lot of difference as you are fairly close anyway.

Shooting Av is often recommended but you always need to keep an eye on the shutter speed as well. And I would prefer to manually choose the ISO instead of risking the auto setting selecting an inappropriate shutter speed or aperture.

I would also selectively sharpen the bird and birdtable separately from the background.

In addition, with shots like this I normally just use the centre focusing point to prevent accidental false auto focusing problems. But we don't know what settings you actually used here. As Richard mentioned.

The UV filter won't make any difference either way, except giving you a little bit of extra lens safety.

Real Name
    Al