Thread: How do I get vidid color images?

How do I get vidid color images?

I studied photography in school and used to be quite the active photographer. I mainly shot black and white film. After having children, I found less time for picture taking while working a full time job. Now I am trying to get back into it. I have been shooting digital now for the past 6 years still doing mainly black and white but color now and then. I use adobe cs2 for editing photos. My question is that I am noticing in other photographers work such vidid colors in their color portraits or many other images and I am wondering "how do I do that" Is there a software that I can use. Is it something that can be done in photoshop? I would also like to know how to improve the eyes in my pictures? I want to get those crystal clear eyes on my subjects. Any advice, greatly appreciated.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: How do I get vidid color images?

It's many things - first and foremost though, it comes down to colour management, and that means things like:

- Shooting a spectrally neutral reference frame as part of the session, and then using that to correctly white-balance the shot in post-processing

- Shooting a calibrated colour card and then using that to build a custom camera profile

- Working from a correctly calibrated and profiled monitor

- Ensuring the images are presented using the correct colourspace (sRGB)

Get everything right, and ... Viola (not vivid, but accurate)

If you're talking VIVID colour then accuracy is less important - it's more a case of pushing things appropriately in post-processing, but it's still important to be working from a calibrated and profiled monitor, and present the images using the correct colourspace ...

In terms of post-processing eyes in portraits, that's almost a lesson in itself, typically, we ...

- Select and enhance catchlights

- Select and enhance eye colour, brightness, and contrast

- Retouch whites & lashes

- Sharpen