Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Any comments on the Sony a55 DSLR.

Real Name
    David

Any comments on the Sony a55 DSLR.

Hi There, I'm new to DSLR cameras and serious of purchasing a Sony a55 DSLR camera with twin lens kit, [18-55mm and 55-200mm]. If anyone has a Sony a55 DSLR, I would like there comments if there happy or dissapointed with the camera. My main photography I like to do will be Landscapes and Closeups, eg. Flowers-Insects.

Real Name
    James

Re: Any comments on the Sony a55 DSLR.

I was looking at upgrading my camera and it was between the A55 and the A580. The A55 is a very nice camera. Technically it's a SLR and not a DSLR, because it uses a translucent mirror.

I went and played with both at a local camera shop and both are very nice cameras. I ended up going with the A580 for a few reasons. First the A55 uses a digital viewfinder which I could not get used to. Second, battery life is significantly shorter than the A580. There are a few things that I liked about the A55 that the A580 couldnt do. The A55 can continuously AF while shooting video and while shooting at 10 frames per second. But for landscapes and closeups it doesnt really matter for you. Also the A55's screen can fully flip around while not using it to protect it which is nice, the A580's tilts but can not flip around.

Hope that helps. Let me know if you have any questions.

Real Name
    Elie

Quote Originally Posted by tw0bears View Post
    I was looking at upgrading my camera and it was between the A55 and the A580. The A55 is a very nice camera. Technically it's a SLR and not a DSLR, because it uses a translucent mirror.