Thread: Canon 60D or Canoon 7D

Real Name
    Beyioku Owoyemi Michael.

Canon 60D or Canoon 7D

I'm new to photography and will want to ask for you candid advise...which is better more superior for both photography and video?

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Canon 60D or Canoon 7D

Hello and welcome to CiC. Did you know that you can edit your profile and put your proper name under 'Real Name' so that it appears alongside all your posts. You'll have seen, I hope, that CiC is the sort of forum where people use their real names.

As for your question, I'm sure lots of people will come onto give you an opinion. But remember, it is only an opinion. You have to check out the reviews, test the cameras and make your own mind up.

Whilst you wait for comments, why not click on View Tag Cloud below and left of this message and click on 'camera purchase'. That will then show you a list of threads where the merits of respective cameras have previously been discussed. You'll certainly find plenty about the 7D and the 60D on there.

And ... you don't say where you are. If you're in the UK, the just-released latest edition of 'Black & White Photography' magazine is carrying a review of the 60D.

The 7D has better credentials as a camera for sports and wildlife (frame rate, AF, etc) but the 60D is lighter and cheaper and has a flip out screen. Do your priorities lie with speed or with portability?

Personally I use the 7D but got it a while back so the 60D wasn't out and I never had such a tough decision to make. However I would probably still go for the 7D as it has a 100% viewfinder and has AF microadjust (which I wouldn't want to be without if planning to use AF with long lenses, particularly 3rd party lenses like Sigma).

Real Name
    Beyioku Owoyemi Michael.

@Donald,thanks so much for your advise.
    @Andy,I'm at using it for shooting films and music video...so what do you think?

Real Name
    Brian