Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First portrait with D90

Real Name
    Randy

First portrait with D90

This is my first attempt of a portrait with my better half while celebrating our 30th. WE were out of town in Branson Mo. shopping when I dragged her out of a shop to try this. I used a 50mm f1/8, 1/640 at 200iso. My wife didn't like how close I was for fear of showing to much detail so I only got a few shots. I focused on the high part of the neck to soften the face, per request or should say threat and shot wide open and fast for low dop. There was no PP work done. This was done before I started Colin's School of Portraiture so I have a reference point for improvement. I mostly shoot indoor sport's so this is a new can of worms for me but I thought it will give me a better understanding and make me a better photographer. Hope I didn't ramble on too much, any critique is welcome.

Randy

Tracey.jpg

Re: First portrait with D90

From that angle, Randy, whatever you did by way of a quick shot was bound to be difficult.

The sun gives a good tint to her hair but leaves the face very dull. One answer, given a bit of 'thinking time', would have been to use flash (Fill flash) to brighten her face. But even that can take a few trial shots before you get the flash amount correct (flash compensation setting).

However, I think a bit of careful selective editing can save this photo, although it won't be perfect.

Real Name
    Randy

Thanks Geoff, The more I read "Colin's Tutorial" the more I realize this wasn't composed very well and your right about the bad angle. With the sun as low as is was, I thought the light wouldn't be that strong. If she faced the light a little would that have given better color or am I no where in the park.

Randy

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff F View Post
    From that angle, Randy, whatever you did by way of a quick shot was bound to be difficult.