Thread: Photoshop tutorials

Real Name
    Chris C

Photoshop tutorials

I've read through the tips and techniques here, but unfortunately am rather not very Photoshop savvy. Does anyone have a recommended tutorial or book or otherwise that may help with the rudimentary of photo processing?

Apologies if there is a link somewhere that I've missed

Real Name
    Susan

Re: Photoshop tutorials

Hi Chris: I am a self taught Photoshop user. I learned a great deal from Lynda.com. This costs a monthly membership of around $30 or an annual menbership. You unlimited access to their tutorials for that price. You get video lessons and can participate. I had a 30 day free trial when I bought Photoshop and learned a great deal. There are also lessons on Youtube and Photoshop TV. Those tend to address specific tasks and don't start from the beginning. There is also Photoshop for Dummies. Samy's Camera, and other Camera Stores have workshops. Hope that helps.
    Susan

Real Name
    Elise

I also recommend lynda.com. You can sign up for a month at $25 (unless it's gone up) and have unlimited access to any tutorials you can watch during that month (just don't forget to cancel your membership before the end of the month). I've done both Photoshop and Lightroom and learned a lot -- I opened PS while I was watching the video and opened a photo of mine that resembled the one they were working on, and then stopped the video periodically to do the steps on my own photo. It's a great way to learn.

There's also Photoshop User TV, but that's a little more random. Lots of episodes, though.

I had to buy Martin Evening's Adobe Photoshop for Photographers for my PS class, and I don't really recommend it -- it's like a huge compendium and very hard to find what you want. A step-by-step book is more helpful for beginners, I think.

Which version of Photoshop are you using, Chris, or is it another programme? The correct answers will vary depending on this.