Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Dogs in snow

Real Name
    Dan

Dogs in snow

Hi everyone! It took me a while but I came back to give something new for you guys to chew on. This is my first attempt at capturing action, so ways in which to improve should be plentiful.

The camera used for these shots is a D90, with a brand new 16-85mm lens. I used a gray card for exposure and color balance prior to the shots and adjusted the exposure time slightly (or tried to) whenever the sun broke through the cloud cover.

These are jpegs straight from the camera, so no post-processing; I did not shoot in raw, only jpeg (a collective sigh of disappointment echoes through CiC).

Dogs in snow
    1/800, f/5.6, iso 200 at 85mm

Dogs in snow
    1/1250, f/5.6, iso 200 at 78mm

Dogs in snow
    1/640, f/5.6, iso 200 at 56mm

I'm hoping for comments from you on composition, exposure, correct techniques for capturing these scenes and anything else you think is worth mentioning. Feel free to edit or modify the images.

I feel the biggest mistake I made was to use single focus point instead of one of the smarter focus area modes the camera has. Which autofocus mode would have been optimal, dynamic area, auto-area or 3D-tracking? Would you have used manual pre-focus?

What are the best ways of capturing action?
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 5th March 2011 at 07:13 PM. Reason: added EXIF data

Real Name
    Paul

Re: Dogs in snow

Dan, I think your exposure works, and the color is great. I like the first shot the most but wish the branch had been a little bigger, I struggle to see it at first. And now I see it is a ball and string. =} The third shot may have been more effective from a low angle. Just some off the cuff comments from a non pro here. Have not worked with the subject much myself.

I might also clone out the weeds in the top left of #1. It is a little distracting.
    Last edited by jeeperman; 5th March 2011 at 08:02 PM.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Dan,