Thread: How and when do you apply noise reduction?

Real Name
    Mark Fleming

How and when do you apply noise reduction?

I'm currently reading Real World Image Sharpening with Adobe Photoshop CS2: Industrial-Strength Production Techniques by Bruce Fraser as suggested by a certain person here. I'm about two thirds through and it's been revelation but it's thrown up some questions.

Now as most of you know I'm relatively new to digital (Two & half years) so when I started using Photoshop it was quite a steep learning curve. I read some bad online tutorials (not here!) and I realise now that I've developed a few bad habits regarding "workflow" that I think need to be reviewed.

I'd just like to know how and when everybody else here applies noise reduction, what program do you use, plugin filter?, and do you do so on a certain channel.
    Last edited by The Blue Boy; 30th January 2009 at 10:22 PM.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Noise Reduction

Hi Mark,

I use the Neat Image plug in for PS Elements 6 (I gather it also works standalone), cost about $30 from memory.

Not sure if I'm doing it right either, but I do it fairly soon after the import from ACR.
    It's fairly obvious you don't want to sharpen the noise, so it must come before that, but I also do it before any levels or cloning etc. probably after cropping (if I didn't do that in ACR).

I hope the more experienced PP'ers will correct me if I'm wrong.

Cheers,

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by Chelseablue View Post
    I'd just like to know how and when everybody else here applies noise reduction, what program do you use, plugin filter?, and do you do so on a certain channel.
    Hi Mark,

When I recommended the book I should also have mentioned that it's probably just as relevant to noise reduction as it is to sharpening.