Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Light Meter

Real Name
    Steve

Which Light Meter

Does anybody know of any light meter that can measure over 30 secs?

I use my camera metering always on spot because I find it easier, bunging up iso to 800 to take a pic of me with a grey card 30 degrees to the main light, but not higher iso since noise corrupts grey card readings; and then multiply time by 8 to get 100 iso time settings.

Obviously this is limited use and I see exposures in this forum hours long.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: Which Light Meter

Steve, I'm not an expert in this field of long-exposure photography. Having read some books about this subject, most of the guys who wrote these books does not use any light meter. Instead, they based their exposure on trial and error. From their initial data, that is how they adjust their shutter settings based on the "effect" that they want to achieve. Hope this helps. I'm pretty sure the professional ones here can give you a more direct answer.

What's a light meter?

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

I use a Sekonic 758DR which is good for 30 minutes, if that helps.

Real Name
    Steve

yes, it would but it is a bit pricey.

Real Name
    Robin

I do quite a bit of night shooting and as above the correct exposure is often down to experience plus some wide ranging trial and error.

As a side note does anyone know if a digital sensor suffers from reciprocity law failure as film does - I'd guess not but I've never checked.

Real Name
    Pops

My old GE 8DW58Y4 goes to 120 seconds.

Pops

Real Name
    Chris

I think my Pentax Spotmeter goes to 1 hour..I'll check tomorrow. I use the EV scale when doing digital and have just begun to set up a logbook on exposures and noise.

Real Name
    Mel Timtiman