Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Over exposed or Under exposed?

Real Name
    Mel Timtiman

Over exposed or Under exposed?

Which one is easier to post process in Photoshop CS5, an over exposed or under exposed shot?

Thanks for your inputs

Mel

Real Name
    Russell

Re: Over exposed or Under exposed?

Hi, well I am no expert but as I understand it you should over expose if you need to as you pull back on the highlights but cannot recover from the shadows as easily if you do over expose you have to I believe ensure you don't have highlight warnings flashing unless it is not an important highlight. As I say no expert but hope it helps
    Russ

Very basically, Mel, for a bright image shoot 'as far to the right as possible' but without actually over exposing anything. Shooting to the right refers to the right side of a well filled histogram.

For a 'moody' scene, etc, concentrate more on the shadows and midtones.

But if there is any doubt about the correct settings, I always come down on the under exposed side. You can usually recover most of the details from slightly dark midtones but over exposed highlights are lost for ever. And that applies to all software.

And of course, shooting Raw will always be beneficial for editing difficult images. On the rare occasions when I shoot Jpeg I always set the camera auto 'enhancements' to zero.

Real Name
    Sahil Jain

I think an under exposed shot is easier to recover. I find it almost impossible to bring back the details from blown out hightlights, which are likely to be seen in an overexposed shot. My 2 cents. I am just a beginner. Lets see what experts have to say on this..

PS:- I was typing my post, as Geoff's comment was posted.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by russellsnr View Post