Thread: Total Beginner here!

Real Name
    Andy

Total Beginner here!

Hi guys,

I've been wanting to post here since I joined, but I've been really busy so I've been a bit delayed.

Anyway, where do i start!

I was talking to a friend who does photography, and it really seems like something i want to pursue, It'll get me out the house, doing things and being creative!
    There are a lot of fields and landscape that look amazing here, and also a lot of lovely buildings. I'd also want to take photos of friends and family when we're out and about, and maybe at some point look in to portrait photos and things like that. I thought i would say a few of the things i would like to take photos of as i know this effects what lenses i should get

Firstly, I've been thinking about the practicality of taking photos,
    I use an electric wheelchair and have very weak arms and hands.
    however, i was thinking of attaching a tripod (which my dad would modify to fit properly) to my wheelchair. So the camera would be about my chest height, maybe slightly higher.This would save me holding the camera (which i would find difficult, especially trying to take a clear image without shake). And i could use the pan and tilt to get the angles i want - albeit limited to some degree.

Obviously this is all ideas in my head so far, but would you think that this would be the way forward for me using a camera?

Secondly I used to have a camera (not a dslr, or one i could change lenses on)
    however, the battery compartment has broken, it's about 5 years old and I think getting a camera with changeable lenses would be the way forward for someone wanting to get in to photography.

So, the question is, if I'm getting a new camera, what should i get, and what lenses.
    I am a complete novice as to camera's and lenses, so I'm sorry if i say any stupid things that aren't right!