Thread: Need help in the final selection of the camera

Need help in the final selection of the camera

Hello,
    My current camera is Basic P&S: Nikon Coolpix L12.
    I Want to upgrade to the higher end P&S
    Preference is Image Quality.
    Though I have not restricted myself, at present my fields of interest are Landscape, Cityscape, Portrait, Still Closeup, abstract, Adventure (Trekking, rappelling) and am serious about photography.

I have nearly finalized Nikon Coolpix P7000
    One of our friend, who deals with Leica, has suggested Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7
    (Lumix DMC-TZ10) He says Leica lenses are the best.

Now I am confused. Being newbie, I have very little knowledge of technical details. Based on Net Articles, I had given preference to the Censor size & pixel density.

(Another friend has asked me to take lower end DSLR. But I feel it is better to proceed step by step instead of jumping and cost factor counts, too.)

Please, guide me to select the right one.

Side-by-side comparison of Technical specs by DPREVIEW, is attached herewith.

Thanks and Regards,
    Rachana
    Attached Files Attached Files

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Need help in the final selection of the camera

Rachana

Having screwed up Rachana's first attempt to post the above message (for which I again apologise, Rachana) [BAD MOD], hopefully the following will be of some help.

Both cameras that you are now considering are good quality instruments and will help you produce good images. There are a number of people on here who use a Lumix and speak very highly of it.