Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: looking for C&C

Real Name
    John Bernardo Conti III

looking for C&C

I'm very new to photography and have only been using editing tools for about a month now.(gimp,UFRaw and Dynamic HDR 5) Please, tell me where to go with these pictures and what it is I'm not quite capturing. Thanks everyone. I love this site!!!!
    looking for C&C
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by jconti3; 21st January 2011 at 12:56 PM. Reason: add photos!

Real Name
    John Bernardo Conti III

Re: looking for C&C

most of the pics I tried posting "upload failed"....maybe they are too large?
    looking for C&C
    Last edited by jconti3; 21st January 2011 at 02:34 AM.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Welcome to CiC, John. Since you asked for C&C, I'll try to share my idea about your first image.

I do like the main subject but the roof seems like a total distraction on the image. It robs the story of the climber's intensity. How?... by thinking that the rock that he is climbing is just too low that it's just a tad higher than the roof. I know it's tough to take pictures of climbers but still the main principle applies - look for the best angle to tell your story. I wish you could have shifted your location a little bit to show more of the climber's body. That would definitely pin our attention to him on the frame. I don't mind the color since I 'believe' you probably shot this when the sun is already going down. The digital noise on the sky is evident so you might probably need to apply some noise correction on the image.

You have a very good subject and story on this one. Just concentrate on your main subject and let the viewers see your vision clearly. If it is OK with you, I want to share to you a statement given by David DuChemin about composition: