Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A good photography book for beginners - and general advice

Real Name
    Jonathan

A good photography book for beginners - and general advice

Hello,

Beforehand, I apologize for such an "open question", but I'm really a newbie in this forum and in photography as well.
    My interest for photography is bright new, it has started this year, after I came back from a trip. I had bought a new camera - a Canon Sx20 - before traveling (actually, only one week before), but then when I came back I've realised that my travel wasn't very well documented as it should. Surely, if I had at least read carefully the user's guide, things would be better. Anyway, on the last weeks I have been spent a lot of time searching on lessons about photography, reading about it, looking more careful many types of photographs and trying to do some good shots. The matter is much more complex that I imagined. I do not intend to become a professional. My first goal at the moment is learn how to use my camera Canon SX20 - at maximum.

Although I can read a lot of nice articles about photography on internet, as in this website, I'd like to purchase a book - you know, it's always good to have something real in your hands. As for my main subjects at the moment, they are the ordinary moments of life - group pictures, family's celebration and Rio de Janeiro, which gives me a variety of scenes (beach, hills, green areas, city itself).

So, if any of you have a nice suggestion and any nice advice on what I should focus now - because there are so much to learn that I'm little lost.

Thank you =)

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

re: A good book for beginners - and general advice

1. Learn to See Creatively - By Bryan Peterson
    2. The Photographer’s Eye - Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos - By Michael Freeman
    3. The Practical Zone System - For Film and Digital Photography - By Chris Johnson