Thread: Flash issues

Real Name
    Diane

Flash issues

Hi, I am struggling with flashguns and exposure and wonder if anyone can shed any light (pun) on the subject. It's quite a complicated issue, so I'll take it step-by-step. I am not new to photography, but I am very new to flash photography.

Being short of cash due to redundancy, and wishing to try and start a photography business, I bought a cheap flashgun from eBay, Yongnuo Speedlite YN467, and a wireless trigger, Yongnuo RF-602. The trigger can be bought separately and is compatible with Canon equipment. I haven't used either very much, except to try them out, but both have worked very well.

Then, a couple of months ago, my husband became due some pension money from a previous employment, and bought me a new lens and a Canon 580EX II flashgun. So, I figured I would be able to use the wireless trigger with the Canon flash. But there is a weird issue that I am having trouble figuring out.

With the Yongnuo flash, whether I use the flash on-camera, or off-camera using the trigger, the result is the same (not changing any of the settings of either camera or flash, in TTL mode).

With the 580EX, I get a good exposure with the flash on-camera, but when I try it off-camera with the trigger (not changing the settings as above, ETTL mode) it is a white-out - nothing recognisable in the image, just pure white. To get anything like an acceptable exposure with the off-camera trigger, I have to switch the flash to M mode and turn down the compensation to 1/128 power.

Where am I going wrong? Or is this what should happen?

Re: Flash issues

Diane

I think you need to make sure the channels are set the same on both camera trigger and flash unit. I have a Canon STE2 transmitter, which tends to talk to Canon flash units without any problem. But yours should work. Check the settings.

Also, with the 580 you should be able to use a synch cord to fire the flash remotely - but that can be a hassle in certain situations.