Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I want to sell photos. How?

Real Name
    Shane Kupono Costa

I want to sell photos. How?

I'm just starting out, and photography is just a hobby, but I wanted to see if I could sell some of my photos. I was going to print out some 5X7 and 8X10s and matte them.

I was thinking about going down to some local art galleries and seeing if they would sell some on consignment. I was also thinking I could go to the flea market and sell them there.

What do you think or what do you do?

Mahalo

Real Name
    Peter

Re: I want to sell photos. How?

Hi Shane,

I started selling prints at markets about 2 years ago. Where to start?

Firstly let me address the galleries. Prints of the size you are talking will not suit most galleries, the sales price is not high and after their cut (possibly 60% - after all they are paying the rent on the shop) the return to you is too small to bother. I tried hanging my prints on a wall in a shop but did nothing but give them free art in some respects.

I find that I get the best sales when I meet the buyer and can talk to the image. Like antiques there is some kind of providence in meeting the guy who took the shot, know when and where he took it and something about why.