Thread: Photos at 896mm using 1.4x TC

Real Name
    Richard

Photos at 896mm using 1.4x TC

I shot this hand held in the rain from my patio, shot in RAW....

It is my first try using the 1.4x TC on my 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS lens. The AF works quite well using center point AF... I used Mode-1 IS

I used a Canon 7D Mark-2 camera (1.6x), 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II lens at 400mm with a Canon EF 1.4x TC (Mark I) which is reported as 898mm by Smugmug.com and 896mm by my calculations

I focused on the center bird using burst mode, center point single-shot, auto-focus

Manual exposure 1/2,000 second wide open (f/5.6 + 1.4x TC = f/8) using auto ISO at 3,200

Opened this into Photoshop CC using Adobe Bridge/Camera RAW

I used NIK Dfine for noise reduction and NIK Raw Presharpener and then I selected the birds in NIK Viveza and increased the structure 25%

Saved as a JPEG and uploaded full size to Smugmug.

I then linked it to CiC in X3 Large 800 x 1200 pixels

Photos at 896mm using 1.4x TC

I am pretty well satisfied with this image...

I am looking forward to shooting in brighter conditions so I could use a lower ISO and also using a monopod or tripod so I could shoot at a lower shutter speed and close down the f/stop to about f/11 after the TC is calculated in...

I also want to do a test using the 1.4x TC and then shooting from the same spot with the bare lens. Then cropping to the subject size I got with the TC and seeing which is the better. But that will have to wait for brighter conditions...
    Last edited by rpcrowe; 12th January 2017 at 12:03 AM.

Re: Photos at 896mm using 1.4x TC

Excellent image!

I have the same rig myself and on a crop sensor (7D MkII or 80D,) and with the 1.4 (in my case Mk III) extender that 100-400 still renders amazingly sharp images. Helped of course, in this case, by a skilled photographer from what I can see!
    Last edited by Tronhard; 11th January 2017 at 10:00 PM.

Real Name
    John