Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Buying a Standard Lens

Real Name
    Andrew Sugianto

Buying a Standard Lens

Dear friends,

I am a newbie in photography and I have just learned about it for about a month (although I have had a passion for it for a couple years). Currently, I am learning photography with a mirrorless camera, Olympus OM-D E-M10 Mark II and its kit lens (14-42mm F3.5-5.6 EZ).

After using the lens for quite a while, although it is undoubtedly quite good for learning, I feel that the pictures that I take using the lens is not sharp enough and the taken pictures often showed some chromatic abberations. Therefore, I am thinking of buying another lens.

Following my thought, after some internet searching, I am determined to buy a standard lens. I am considering of buying Panasonic Lumix G 25mm F/1.7 ASPH, which has got many positive reviews and is affordable to me.

What do you think about my decision? Do I make a right decision? Should I buy a standard lens to learn further? If so, will Panasonic Lumix G 25mm F/1.7 ASPH be a good purchase for a newbie like me?

Real Name
    John

Re: Buying a Standard Lens

Hi Andrew,

One of our members, Inkista advised me years ago about the Lumix 29mm f/17 pancake lens, I purchased and it's used 98% of the time.

Real Name
    Dave

Hello Andrew and welcome to CiC.

I can't comment on your choice of lens and I am not that familiar with current Olympus lenses but know some of their lenses from many years ago they had a reputation for being very good, so I'm surprised by the problems you are having. Can you post example photos showing the lack of sharpness and the chromatic abberations, along with the EXIF data so we can see the problem?

Dave

Real Name
    Andrew Sugianto

Quote Originally Posted by Shadowman View Post
    Hi Andrew,

One of our members, Inkista advised me years ago about the Lumix 29mm f/17 pancake lens, I purchased and it's used 98% of the time.