Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canon 7D Mark II or Canon 6D?

Real Name
    Mary

Canon 7D Mark II or Canon 6D?

Hi guys! I am a new photographer and am debating between the Canon 7D Mark II and the Canon 6D. I've been doing lots of research but I need your help on which I should choose and why. I am mainly going to be doing portraits, children photography and some landscape.

Please help as this has been a really tough decision.

Thank you!
    Mary

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Canon 7D Mark II or Canon 6D?

I'm not a Canon shooter, so I can't comment on the one or the other in any detail.

My question would tend to be why are you looking at full frame and why are you looking at Canon DSLRs versus some of the other options? What lenses are you considering and why?

The main reason I ask is that if you are a new photographer, you are looking at a fairly expensive entry into photography with those two models.

Real Name
    Robin

For portrait photography it is more about the lenses you buy than the camera so really you should be asking for opinions on the ones you've looked at and advice on what others would recommend. Once you have the lens (lenses) you are happy with buy a camera to fit them to.

The other thing to consider is portrait photography very often involves additional lighting so what do you intend to buy, what modifiers are you thinking about, where will you shooting, what is your experience in handling lighting, are you intending to do this as a hobby or a profession and what is your total budget?

Real Name
    Kathy

Quote Originally Posted by mmbad View Post
    Hi guys! I am a new photographer and am debating between the Canon 7D Mark II and the Canon 6D. I've been doing lots of research but I need your help on which I should choose and why. I am mainly going to be doing portraits, children photography and some landscape.

Please help as this has been a really tough decision.