Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Don't fix it if it ain't broke....

Real Name
    Richard

Don't fix it if it ain't broke....

Don't fix it if it ain't broke was one of the slogans we used in the U.S. Navy. A corollary to that statement is: Change gives the illusion of progress

I was shooting with my new Canon 7D Mark II camera today and wanted to adjust the flash compensation. I have been using two dial Canon DSLR cameras for well over ten years and know how the buttons and dials work.

Anyhow, I pressed the ISO-FEC button and rotated the quick control dial in the back of the camera. Crazy things happened with the exposure.

The reason was that the ISO-FEC button is no longer ISO-FEC... Rather Canon has changed this button to the FEC-ISO button. Now, to change the FEC, you press the button and rotate the main dial on top of the camera. In order to adjust the ISO, you press that button and rotate the Quick Control Dial on the back of the camera; instead of the other way around.

I know that the "Canon Gods" must have had some valid reason to reverse this button, but for the life of me, I cannot figure out why they did so. After the D60, 10D, 30D, 40D and 7D; they felt the urgent need to switch this button reversing the use that my five previous cameras made of it

Not a heavy cross to bear but, it has me wondering what else has changed and has me looking into the manual. Another Navy saying is "If all else fails, read the directions"
    Last edited by rpcrowe; 8th August 2016 at 03:34 AM.

Re: Don't fix it if it ain't broke....

Just enough of a change to mess with your head

Real Name
    George

Quote Originally Posted by rpcrowe View Post
    Don't fix it if it ain't broke was one of the slogans we used in the U.S. Navy. A corollary to that statement is: Change gives the illusion of progress