Thread: Carl Zeiss MC Flektogon 2.8/20 on Nikon

Real Name
    Jordan

Carl Zeiss MC Flektogon 2.8/20 on Nikon

A friend of mine found this in an old military laboratory and gave it to me. It has never been used, still in a plastic bag inside its leather-velvet casing.
    The serial number on this copy has only four digits, which puts it early in the production period, based on what I found during my eBay enquiry. Lucky me!
    The mount is screw-type, known as M42, I believe.
    My question is: is this what I need to mount the lens on Nikon D7000 body?
    https://www.fotodioxpro.com/m42-lens...t-adapter.html

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Carl Zeiss MC Flektogon 2.8/20 on Nikon

Hi Jordan,

That adaptor does seem to be the correct variety and although the glass element it comes with allows infinity focus (apparently), it will somewhat reduce image quality. That said, I have no personal experience, I'm just applying theory and (hopefully) common sense.

I do have some experience of using film era manual lenses on my D5000:
    There are a couple of other aspects to using old lenses on your D7000, you can only really shoot in full 'Manual' mode - are you going to be 'happy' with that?
    I believe you won't be able to use; P, A, S or Auto-iso M with it.
    You may have some form of exposure metering on the D7000, I didn't on the D5000, but haven't bothered to try my old manual lenses on on my D7100.

It will obviously require manual focusing, not always easy.
    Additionally; remembering to stop down to the shooting aperture after focusing wide open, is a faff, especially if hand holding and trying to maintain a composition you may not be able to see so well through viewfinder after stopping down.

Using a manual lens on a DSLR really slows you down, some may find this an advantage in certain circumstances, all depends upon your personality and any time pressure when shooting.