Thread: First outing with the legendary Zeiss 55.

Real Name
    buy me a drink first.

First outing with the legendary Zeiss 55.

Hello all
    So, I went out to Jing 'an Temple today and it was a case of good news/bad news all the way. It turned out to be a special day or something (no-one ever tells me the minor Chinese holidays- I just find myself in a turbulent crowd for no apparent reason and think "What the hell??") as entry was free but as my new supercool lens equates to 82.5mm, it is rather inappropriate for Street The sun was strong but I got flare in some of my shots as I stupidly had not brought along my lens hood. But, I persevered and noted a distinct difference between the Sony APS-C 50/1.8 I have been using for about 2 years and the full frame Sony/Zeiss 55/1.8.

1) First things first, I have unwittingly been benefitting quite a bit from the OSS on the crop lens. I set it and forgot it 23 months ago, so returning to a non-stabilised lens resulted in some pretty crappy shots from my shaky hands.

2) The AF seems sluggish compared to the smaller, lighter lens. I waited the usual 0.5s between acquiring focus and activating the shutter, but found myself staring incomprehensibly at the results in my LCD. The shot below is a classic example from today.

and yet this inpromptu shot came out fine.

I am a little disappointed about this, although I did change my AF setting to AF-A for today's shoot on the basis that if I was shooting more static subjects without a tripod, I might need this flexibility. It is entirely possible that I have done this to myself and will update this thread in due course.

3) Sharpness does not seem better on the Zeiss apart from in yet-to-be-determined circumstances. The shot below is the sharpest of today's batch and yes it is pretty sharp ( I have sharpened it in post just a smidgeon too much, but hopefully this will not be evident at screen sizes). But of course, the 50/1.8 is very sharp also.