Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Dell UltraSharp monitor calibration issue

Dell UltraSharp monitor calibration issue

Hello, all. I hope you can help me. I'm a complete noob so I imagine someone with some experience will be able to knock this out quickly.

First, my setup. I have two Dell UltraSharp U2713H daisy-chained on DisplayPort. I've been using x-Rite with an i1Display Pro for a couple of years. Decently satisfied with the results, although I can see slight differences between the two monitors even with my untrained eye.

I recently came across an article that informed me that Dell had its own variation of the X-Rite program for use with UltraSharp monitors and I should be doing a hardware calibration as opposed to a software calibration.

So I uninstalled X-Rite, reset monitors to factory, installed the Dell software, and calibrated. The right monitor (the one that is daisy-chained through the left monitor) looks great to me, what that's worth.

The left monitor, on the other hand, has a very noticeable greenish tint to it, despite calibrating several times. They're sitting right next to each other and I'm using the same i1Display and software. I have no idea what's causing the difference.

Like I said, I don't know much about this but I don't believe it's a result of the profile created. If I delete the profile, nothing seems to happen. It's only when I reset the monitor to factory again that the greenish tint goes away (and the luminance goes through the roof and all the other pleasant things that come out of the box).

I'm not sure if this means anything, but I can see the greenish tint come on right at the start of the calibration. The graphic telling me to take the cover off the i1Display Pro comes up, I do that, then start the color measurements. The screen goes brilliant white for a few seconds and then immediately gets a greenish cast before continuing through the measurements.