Thread: Goal: Sell Fine Art Prints - Initial questions to find my direction

Real Name
    Matthew

Goal: Sell Fine Art Prints - Initial questions to find my direction

I'm just getting started with a goal of selling fine art prints. I was hoping some experienced and generous souls could offer their advice, tips, or a "roadmap" that I should use to get to those goals.

I apologize for the ensuing wall of text, but I feel it's the only way to accurately reflect what I want to do, thereby getting the best advice. I've done my best to make it skimmable by way of concise bullet points.

To help the process, here are some clarifying points about my goals:

GOAL:

- prints of my images that are high-quality, archival, professional

- printing can be tweaked for each photo for correct color

- high level of quality control, and consistency for prints of each photo

- at some point: limited edition prints, matting, framing

IMPORTANT NOTES:

- identity = individual fine art photographer

- brand = quality over quantity, personal touch, individual service.

- not interested in services that don’t allow the attention to detail, QC

- not interested in impression of cheap, mainstream, stock

- not interested in marketplace selling (multiple photographers on a site)

WHERE I’M STARTING FROM:

- Little knowledge of high-quality printing, materials, services, sources

- I currently do not print my work

- I don't have a business (yet)

ADVICE NEEDED ON PRINTING:

Based on info noted above:

- Best printing method(s) to use

- Printing companies / sources that would work with me as described (if there are any!)

- Anything relevant specifically to the printing process, sources, ways to sell and fulfill orders, etc

My suspicion is that my options are:

1. printing and shipping everything myself (expensive, time-consuming, requires much knowledge)

2. working with a local print shop

3. working with a smaller online print shop that specializes in custom printing