Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Photographers Rights - Aren't They Mine?

Real Name
    Debra

Photographers Rights - Aren't They Mine?

Hi:

I am new to this and am forever learning something. My tactic to get opportunities to shoot have been to call and get permission from the event's producer or property owner. This, so far, has been related to horse shows. gymkhanas, and the like.

The latest thing that has come up is that I had called to get permission to be present at a Mule Show that is being held on a private ranch close to where I live. There are not any other photographers going to this event so its just me. I told them from the beginning that I am not offering anything for sale just taking portfolio shots. So again, the ranch owner said it was okay for me to be there.

Later her legal person got wind of it and said that I have to make a CD of all the photos and give it to them, along with the rights to all the photos.

From what I understand that can be a way of doing things, providing that they pay the photographer for the photos / CD. Its not free.

I had indicated from the beginning that I am just taking portfolio shots for practice and improvement in my photography, that nothing would be for sale. It does not seem right that they would expect a CD of a days worth of shooting without paying for it.

I am a metal artist by trade and I know that for photos of my art work, the rights to those photos belong to me. So it seems that if I am taking photos, not for sale / profit, I should not have to worry about handing over the rights to someone else - that the photos are my property if I am taking them and if they want the rights then they would have to pay me, right?

I was only going to post the best of the day on my website, so I don't want bad photos floating around in internet land.

What would be the best solution for this besides the first obvious one - don't take photos here?