Thread: Sigma 150-600 Contemporary Lens with Canon 7D Mark II

Sigma 150-600 Contemporary Lens with Canon 7D Mark II

Hello all,

I purchased this lens, Sigma 150-600, and hooked it up on my Canon 7D Mark II. But I find the image a little softer but I have heard that this lens is sharp. What I need though is what kind micro adjustment settings do I have to use to make it more sharper. Any ideas??? I am just new to photography.

Real Name
    John

Re: Sigma 150-600 Contemporary Lens with Canon 7D Mark II

Hi Larry,

Under what shooting conditions did you try the lens and did you try it at different apertures? Are you using the lens handheld or on a tripod?

Real Name
    Bryan

It would probably be good to post the photo with all the details -- aperture, shutter, ISO, focal length.

I have the 150-600 and I know that I have to remind myself to watch the shutter speed, try to keep it 1/focal length.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Quote Originally Posted by LarryG View Post
    I am just new to photography.
    Welcome to CiC Larry.

Among photographers, it seems that experienced photographers blame themselves for things that haven't quite worked out, but beginners tend to blame their equipment. While it might be your equipment, I would look at your technique before looking at other causes.

As others have stated, it's difficult for us to help you without an example of one of the images that shows the issues to help us analyse the problem. If possible, important data like focal length used, aperture, shutter speed, ISO and camera type are useful information as well.

As for adjustments / micro settings - these are used to change where the lens focuses ONLY IF an issue of front focus or back focus is causing the issue. This adjustment does not solve any other issue and before attempting this type of adjustment, I would want to rule out all other possibilities.