Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: How do you know what's been post-processed? Does it matter?

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: How do you know? Does it matter?

Quote Originally Posted by ashwin View Post
    Comment and suggestion welcome

How do you know what's been post-processed? Does it matter?
    Sorry Ashwin, but it just looks like a blown capture - I think you have to push things MUCH further to get away with it (I started with a full 3 stops).

Real Name
    Kit, aka Slimtla

Re: HIGH-KEY effect in Photoshop

I feel that the image posted by Colin comes into the high contrast, rather than high key area. I'm a rank beginner, but my mind is somewhat set on this. To me, high key involves lighter greys through to whites with maybe the smallest token of black. I can see some colour high key, but in general, a high degree of desaturation is another necessity. But I'm not saying that someone else's interpretation is not correct. No way. It's like many areas of photography and image making, such as tone mapping - what blows one persons socks off is a travesty to someone else.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: HIGH-KEY effect in Photoshop

Quote Originally Posted by Klickit View Post
    I feel that the image posted by Colin comes into the high contrast, rather than high key area. I'm a rank beginner, but my mind is somewhat set on this. To me, high key involves lighter greys through to whites with maybe the smallest token of black
    You could well be right, although forcing high amounts of contrast on an image will also give large areas of black whereas in my original high-key shot I kept the tonal range anchored, but pushed skintones up around 3 stops - so yes, it's increasing the contrast (by definition), but also up-shifting large portions of the tonal range. Whether or not this qualifies as high-key, I don't have a clue, as I don't shoot high-key