Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Light Tent Help

Real Name
    Tommy

Light Tent Help

I know I haven't posted a lot but I am here daily to check out other people's work and constructive feedback - I am loving the site and the community, in which I hope to be much more active in the future as my photography progresses. At the moment I consider myself a complete beginner, but this site is helping me pick things up.

Anyways, on to the reason I am posting...

I run a small business selling dental and surgical loupes online. The photos I currently have on my website are pretty poor (they are from the manufacturer) and I really wanted to update them. I bought a cheap light tent off Ebay and a metre of velvet from the local haberdashery store, to use as a backdrop, however I can't seem to get the lighting right. The fact that I do not have lighting equipment maybe the issue here

The thing is, I do not want to spend a great deal of money buying decent lighting that I will not use much so i was wondering if anyone could offer some alternative suggestions. Maybe a few angle-poise lamps from IKEA and some 100Watt light-bulbs perhaps? Are there studios I can go to to use their lightroom equipment? (I live in Islington in Central London).

Any suggestions will be gratefully received.

Thanks in advance,

Tom

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Light Tent Help

Hi Tom,

I'm sure a lack of organised lighting is probably the cause.

I have a set up at home with goose neck desk lamps - they're ok for a start, but ultimately, anglepoise would be better, assuming you mean the sort that gives a good range of height and positional adjustment - although you'll need a larger table top to work on for those.

I use 30 and 60W bulbs, which are about the maximum you can safely put in that size lamp anyway, or you'll risk burning yourself or starting a fire