Thread: Hi from New Member Me!

Real Name
    Ginny

Hi from New Member Me!

Hi all,

My name is Ginny and I live in the Llandudno area of North Wales. I own and run a small B&B, and in my spare time write some fiction. I also have a fast developing interest in photography. I have recently 'upgraded' my trust Panasonic compact to a Nikon D3300 with 18-55 kit lens.
    I am delighted with what 'Auto' mode has brought me so far but I do want to go further and 'grow' with the camera (yes I have been reading up!). That said I am a complete newbie, and need to get out and about and practicing. I am on a bit of a learning curve as I am going to Australia in a few weeks and I would like to take the opportunity to get some better shots than in the past.
    This forum really looks good, and some of the photos are stunning. Well beyond me I am sure, but I do hope to improve and am prepared to put the time in to do so.

Cheers

Ginny

Real Name
    John

Re: Hi from New Member Me!

Welcome Ginny, good camera to bring along to Australia, look for interesting light and if standing in front of a popular site; just remember that it's been photographed so many times so go for something unique. Looking forward to seeing what you capture.

Real Name
    Dan

Welcome, Ginny. Plenty of Ozzies on this site who are kind enough to offer advice as needed for visiting down under. My wife and I were down there for three weeks last November/December. Simply lovely.

The best photography related advice that I have is to get out there and fire away. With digital we get the benefit if instant feedback and can change/correct things on the fly. So go for it. Look forward to seeing some of your images.

Real Name
    Kaye Leggett

Hi Ginny

If you get time before you go, book yourself onto an understanding yur DSLR course - there are loads around so I would hope you'll find one near you. I did one when I was a complete newbie and haven't looked back.

Real Name
    Dave

Hi Ginny,