Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Back button focus question.

Real Name
    David

Back button focus question.

Hello all,
    I am new to photography, and have just bought my first digital camera, a Nikon D610, which I love using. I have read quite a few articles on the web about back button focus, and how we should all at least give it a try as it is such a good technique to learn. Up until now I have been using the traditional 'button half way down' technique for focusing, where a little red focusing point appears in the viewfinder, with a beeping sound, to confirm the focus.
    I have recently set up to use back button focus. Now when I press the Fn button on the camera, which is the button I have chosen in the menu to activate back button focus, I get the same little red focus point in the viewfinder, with the beeping sound, to confirm focus, which is what I was expecting to happen, but also, what I was not expecting to happen, when I press the shutter button to take the picture, the little red focus point appears again, as does the beeping sound. I thought this was going to be disengaged when setting up back button focus. So I am a bit confused now. After setting my focus point with the Fn button, is the camera still re-focusing when I press the shutter button?. Thanks in advance for any info on this.

Real Name
    Robin

Re: Back button focus question.

Point it at something much closer and see if the focus moves

Real Name
    Dave

Welcome! Hopefully, one of the Nikonians will step in.

However, on my Panasonic, there are alternative settings for bbf. With one, the focus stays locked till you press the button again. With the other, you have to keep it pressed (like a shutter half press) till you take the shot, which sounds like the way yours is behaving.

Dave

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

I use Back Button Focus (BBF) 100% of the time with my D800.