Thread: LightRoom advice

Real Name
    Gordon

LightRoom advice

lightroom experts... the image is a jpg version of what I am still working through... the areas marked with red circle. are giving me problems. I cannot get them at all to look right. the blue is too strong in the water and how that was shot I don't know ... I have tried adjustment brush and radial filter in LRoom with no joy.

I am starting to think I will have to reinstall lRoom as the effects they produce do not work everytime. any other ideas ..appreciated

[IMG]LightRoom advice[/IMG]

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

re: LightRoom advice

Hi Gordon,

I'm not a LR expert (don't have it), but I note from EXIF data that you also have PS CS6, can you tackle it there, using a separate layer and a couple of small holes in a mask?

I suggest that because for the tiny, irregular areas you are trying to affect, I know I wouldn't try to do that in ACR (the equivalent workspace in Photoshop).

Good luck, Dave

Real Name
    Gordon

Re: LightRoom advice

cheers Dave will give that a try. I am trying to master LRoom a little more than I already know. I know Cyberlink Photo director a little better but have no longer got it, or cannot find the CD after two house moves. PShop I am pretty clueless. but I see what you are getting at.

Real Name
    Dan

A bit off topic first, but I have to say that I don't see anything wrong with those areas. It isn't surprising that the reflection of the sky would have a different hue where the surface of the water has been disturbed. However, that's neither here nor there.

I agree with Dave. I do a great deal of my editing in Lightroom, and it is quite a powerful editor, but one of the situtations in which it really falls short of a good pixel editor is in working on limited areas. The adjustment brush has become quite powerful in recent versions, but it is still more limited than what you can do in Photoshop.