Thread: Using Layers

Real Name
    John

Using Layers

Donald asked if I could post a description of how layers were used in creating the ghostly figure in a recent post. The monk was a stock image that I had already cut out so I've used different images for this in order to show how to accurately isolate the object you want to place on your selected background.

A couple of points first.
    • Everything that follows is based on Photoshop. PS Elements should be similar. I have no experience of other programmes.
    • Being totally self taught I am not an expert. Others may know of more elegant ways to achieve what I am describing. If so, speak up and we can all learn some more.

The Two selected images:
    Using Layers

The Tools
    If you are familiar with these, skip this section.
    Using Layers

Using Layers

The Technique
    This involves:
    • Isolating the aircraft from its current background.
    • Copying and pasting it onto the new background
    • Resizing the pasted image
    • Positioning the pasted image and cropping the overall final image.

1. Both images are opened, the sky for background and the Vulcan Bomber. Their file names appear at the top left of the canvas. Each image is revealed by left clicking on its file name. The aircraft image is selected.
    2. Any image adjustments are probably best carried out at this stage (although I haven't done so till later)e.g. the roundels and tail markings have had colour saturation applied, the overall exposure has been reduced slightly.
    3. There are several way to accurately isolate the aircraft but my preferred method is to use a rough selection which is tidied up using a Quick Mask. The selection below has been made using the Lasso tool.

Using Layers

4. Next the Quick Mask Tool is selected (left click) which produces the image below. Note that the Foreground and Background colours in the side toolbox automatically go to black and white.

Using Layers