Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why I love digital...

Why I love digital...

I got into photography back in the early 1980's. Before I had a decent camera I spent months digesting the contents of photography books by people like John Hedgcoe - what I liked was that each photo had the reason for photography, its context and technical settings. Eventually I left the country to go and work on my big overseas experience and got my cameras and lenses duty free on the way out. At the time I was an engineer and got a job on a dam site in Australia. During the interview I mentioned that I was a keen photography and somehow found myself employed as an engineer and technical site photographer!!! On arriving at the site one of the first things they showed me was my darkroom... I had never processed a photo myself before, and in the pre-web era I could not just leap onto YouTube to research. Luckily I had my reference books and I furiously studied processing techniques and destroyed more than a few prints before I got the basics down. During the next year I photographed all sorts of things around the site for my employer and myself and developed my skills in field and darkroom. On one occasion the local newspaper took one of my photos of a gang of workmen and published it. It did not go down well on the site as several of those in the photo were arrested for various reasons!

When I had earned enough I went touring Australia for over eight months, going around and through the middle of the continent, taking about 3 rolls of 36 transparencies per day. I did the same in New Zealand and amassed a huge collection of slides. From that I pared them down to about 400 transparencies of salable value and had them accepted by a commercial company.