Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Used dSLR Camera for Beginners

Real Name
    Sanjib Mukhopadhyay

Used dSLR Camera for Beginners

I am an absolute beginner to dSLR photography and intend to upgrade from my exsiting Canon SX510. But the thing is that my budget is not that high as to afford a new dSLR available in the market. I prefer to stick to Canon models because of familiarities with their menus and controls. Can I start with a used camera? I have got one eos 450D, 5yrs. old for Rs.12000/- and there is another 550D (1-1/2 yrs. old) which is Rs.3000/- more. What do you suggest? Presently 1$ = 65 INR

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Used dSLR Camera for Beginners

Used equipment can be a good bargain, if you know that it is in good condition or buy it from a vendor who guarantees it. Otherwise, it is a gamble. The times I have bought used equipment without a guarantee--only twice--it has been fine. However, you can't be certain.

Those two cameras are similar in design and controls. The 550D is a newer model. It has a much higher resolution sensor, and it has automatic sensor cleaning. I don't think the 450 does. However, when I switched to digital, I used an earlier version of the 450, and I got some very good photos from it. This site might be helpful: http://kiyas.la/en/digital-camera/compare/Canon-EOS-450D-vs-Canon-EOS-550D

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I would agree with Dan. If you are intending to purchase from a private seller as opposed to a reputable dealer, then look at some of the information available on the internet about buying cameras privately. These sites tell you want you should look for and the questions you should ask.

You did not say, but I assume the cameras that you are looking at also have a lens included in the price? If buying privately, you need to check both the camera body and the lens.

Real Name
    Richard